[SOLVED] - How to Disable the message "Google Chrome didn't shut down correctly. To reopen the pages you had open, click Restore."

Published




How to Disable the message "Google Chrome didn't shut down correctly. To reopen the pages you had open, click Restore."


Why this happens?


Many people having this problem but not yet a working solution found anywhere,so i came up with mine. because of power failure, Chrome shutting down automatically along with the operating system, whichever os it is, Windows X P or Windows 7, Next time when we open the chrome browser, it shows up the warning message and if we click on Restore button once, all tabs will open again as in the previous state, keeping all cookie information in it, and No cached items. All the cookies are deleted only if we click on close button of the same warning bar.

Its a Security problem sometimes if you are using a public computer rather than a personal computer, if there is a power failure for long time and if we leave it like that, next time another one can easily access sites we had opened last time without even entering a password for that sites.

What is the solution to disable this warning message?

Solution 1:

Try using google chrome in incognito mode.(Using this, you will not able to make use of caching files or saving history. )
to use chrome in incogninto mode, open google chrome, Press Ctrl+shift+N  and it will open chrome in incognito mode.
If you want chrome to open in incognito mode everytime(Better for public computers), you can right click on chrome shortcut on desktop and change the "Target" to 

"C:\Program Files\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe" --incognito




Solution 2:

Use something like Deep Freeze.
Deep Freeze is a software to reset your drive after a shutdown whether it is proper or not.
But its a bad habit to do that thing because it will affect all system and all data will be lost after restart.
So i came up with a simple solution.


Solution  3:

Before trying this out, Don't forget to make backups for files that you going to edit.
Close Google Chrome! <- data-blogger-escaped-i="">important
.Go to Google Chrome's default user data folder.

In Windows

Open Explorer by pressing Windows key + E
In Address bar Copy paste below address as it suits your operating system.

Windows XP :
 %USERPROFILE%\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\

Windows Vista/ Windows 7/ Windows 8:  
%LOCALAPPDATA%\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\

Mac OS X:  
~/Library/Application Support/Google/Chrome/Default

Linux: 
~/.config/google-chrome/Default



Find a file named "preferences". and open with a notepad. (Open notepad first and drag the file to opened notepad).

Find below line in that preferences file. (Press Ctrl+F and Search for "Exited").

"exited_cleanly": true,

This tells the browser, Browser was exited in  proper way last time.
If it is "exited_cleanly": false,

This tells the browser, Browser was exited not in  proper way last time.
Change it to "true".

Just before that, add following line.
"exit_type": "None",

Now that part might be like this.

},

      "exit_type": "None",

      "exited_cleanly": true,

      "name": "First user"

   },


You are almost done, but wait. now we shouldn't allow browser to change the values we entered as long we wish. (Please note that it will be affected other preferences too,i don't care, i just want to disable the warning message,).

So, Right click the "preferences" file, and tick "Read only" option.

Click apply, OK.

It will not affect history saving, or bookmarking. but will do affect some of preference overwriting.

That's all. From now, there will no Error message popping up saying Chrome didn't shutdown properly.

Check if it works or not.


To Check Whether it works or not, Open Chrome browser, Open two or more websites.
Open task manager, In Tasks tab, Right click and Select "End process tree" option till Chrome browser closed.

Wait two seconds, open Chrome again, If everything is done well, There will be no error message sayings that Chrome Didn't shutdown properly.

Let know if this worked for you,tell through comments!
If you face this problem again, feel free to discuss through Comments :)


UPDATE : As of the Version 26.0.1410.64 m release of Google Chrome browser, Chrome Application has moved to Program files folder, but still we will be able to do this trick because Preferences file is located at where it was before.


Comments

  1. Thanks! The annoying warning is no more appearing in my chrome browser :D

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for this! I just went ahead and deleted the preferences file and that fixed it - like I'd care about preferences when Chrome didn't work properly. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for this. While following your directions I noticed the problem. The 'Preferences' file was already set to 'Read Only' apparently after the last real crash so it was impossible to clear the flag. I simply right clicked the file, unchecked 'read only' and reopened Chrome. Closed the 'Restore' error one last time, closed and reopened Chrome...now without the error.

    ReplyDelete
  4. worked beautifully! no more issues! thanks a bunch =)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I had a different problem: No Preferences file. But I signed in to Chrome using a Google Apps account, and the Apps administrator disabled syncing. I eventually deleted that account from Chrome, reset all the browser settings, and signed in with a normal Gmail account.
    It worked fine, but deleted all my bookmarks. I wish I'd saved them to an HTML file first

    ReplyDelete
  6. Not sure which version of Chrome you're referring to but on my Win7 64-bit system, running Chrome 31.0.1650.63 m (according to "About Chrome"), there was no such preferences file anywhere to be found. I looked in ..\Chrome\Application and found a file called master_preferences, but that one's encrypted, not text editable.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Did you try typing this in you address bar? it will take you to the folder where a folder named "Default" exist, and inside that folder, you can see Preferences file.
      [code] %USERPROFILE%\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\User Data\[/code]

      Delete
  7. The Windows version of the path given in the above post is incorrect (or, more precisely, incomplete). There's no 'preferences' file at that path. The correct path is actually

    ...Google\Chrome\User Data\Default

    I.e. the 'Default' bit is missing from what is given above.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! i just updated this post by adding \Default to both lines.

      [b]Windows XP :[/b]
      [pre] %USERPROFILE%\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\[/pre]

      [b]Windows Vista/ Windows 7/ Windows 8: [/b]
      [pre] %LOCALAPPDATA%\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\[/pre]

      Delete

Like before its too late!
Aslamise